Rwanda’s 2024 Election: Three Presidential Aspirants Meet Requirements

Rwanda's Presidential Candidates for 2024


  • The Rwanda National Electoral Commission (NEC) announced a provisional list of candidates for the 2024 elections, with only three out of nine presidential aspirants meeting the legal requirements. The qualifying candidates are President Paul Kagame, Frank Habineza, and Philippe Mpayimana. Aspirants with incomplete files have until June 14 to submit missing documents.

RWANDA, (Examiner) – The Rwanda National Electoral Commission (NEC) released a provisional list of presidential and parliamentary candidates on Thursday, June 6, revealing that only three out of nine presidential hopefuls met the legal requirements.

The provisional candidates for the 2024 presidential election, scheduled for July, include incumbent President Paul Kagame of the ruling Rwanda Patriotic Front (RPF Inkotanyi), Frank Habineza, Chairperson of the Democratic Green Party of Rwanda, and independent aspirant Philippe Mpayimana.

NEC Chairperson Oda Gasinzigwa, announcing the list on Rwanda Television, stated that after screening, only three of the nine presidential aspirants qualified. The disqualified aspirants are Herman Manirareba, Innocent Hakizimana, Fred Sekikubo Barafinda, Thomas Habimana, Diane Rwigara, and Jean Mbanda.

Aspirants with incomplete files have until June 14 to submit the missing documents, when the final list will be published. However, requirements related to registered voters supporting a candidate could not be completed after the May 30, 2024, deadline for submitting candidatures. Aspirants seeking further explanations can contact the National Electoral Commission.

For the parliamentary candidates, the commission approved lists from six political parties, with only one independent candidate meeting the requirements. In special categories, NEC provisionally approved 181 candidates for the 24 women seats, 23 candidates for the two youth representative seats, and seven candidates for the seat reserved for persons with disabilities.

ALSO READ  Suspected Islamists kill at least 16 in eastern DR Congo, local official reports

NEC will announce the final list of candidates on June 14. Campaigns for both presidential and parliamentary candidates will begin on June 22 and end on July 13. Voting will take place from July 14 to 15.

Ad Display
This ad will close in 15 seconds
WhatsApp Follow Button

Your Page Title

The Black Examiner®.

We come to you.

Want to send us a story or have an opinion to share? Send an email to or Join Our WhatsApp CHANNEL