Police Step In as Hoima LC 5 Candidate Misses Nomination

Police Step In as Hoima LC 5 Candidate Misses Nomination
Ms Susan Atuhuura missed being nominated for the seat of chairperson Hoima District Local Government on Thursday, August 31, 2023 at Kitoba Sub-county Headquarters in Hoima District.

Hoima District | The Black Examiner – Chaos erupted during the Hoima District Local Government by-election when Ms. Susan Atuhuura, the sole female contender, missed her nomination on Thursday. She was allegedly disqualified for failing to meet the designated deadline.

The turmoil began when Ms. Merab Kasande, the Hoima District Registrar for the Electoral Commission (EC), closed the nomination process at 5 pm and declined to register Ms. Atuhuura, citing the aspirant’s failure to submit the required documents on time.

According to the registrar, Ms. Atuhuura submitted her supporters’ names and other necessary documents to the EC desk just minutes past 5 pm, in violation of the legally mandated deadline.

Ms. Kasande advised the candidate to appeal to the Chairman of the Electoral Commission in an attempt to secure her nomination and participate in the upcoming election.

The incident triggered a half-hour commotion at the Kitoba sub-county headquarters, where the nomination process was taking place. Ms. Atuhuura vehemently contested the claim, insisting that she had indeed submitted the documents on time. She alleged that the move was an attempt to thwart her candidacy for the position, which became vacant following the tragic death of the former Local Council 5 chairman, Kadir Kirungi, in a motor accident earlier this year.

The District Police Commander, SP Jackson Bogere, led police officers in an unsuccessful attempt to remove Ms. Atuhuura from the nomination room. Eventually, the police escorted the registrar out of the room to a waiting vehicle, where she held discussions with the candidate, ultimately reaching an agreement.

Other candidates who were successfully nominated included Mr. Patrick Musinguzi (FDC), Mr. Moses Aguuda (NUP), Mr. Lenox Mugume (Independent), Mr. Vincent Muhumuza (Independent), and Mr. Uthman Mubarak Mugisha (NRM), among others.


WhatsApp Follow Button

Your Page Title

The Black Examiner®.

We come to you.

Want to send us a story or have an opinion to share? Send an email to editorial@examiner.co.ug or Join Our WhatsApp CHANNEL

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com