Museveni renews Byabakama as Electoral Commission Chair

Museveni renews Byabakama as Electoral Commission Chair

Justice Simon Byabakama and Deputy Hajat Aisha Luebga have secured another seven-year tenure at the helm of the Electoral Commission, as confirmed by President Museveni’s communication to the Speaker of Parliament on January 5th. This extension marks their continued leadership since Justice Byabakama’s initial appointment in November 2016.

In the latest appointments, new members have joined the Commission, injecting fresh perspectives into its dynamics. Notably, Robert Kasule Sebunya, former MP for Kyandondo North and Nansana Municipality, brings his experience as the Head of the Delivery Unit at the Prime Minister’s Office. Dr. Sallie Simba Kayunga, a Political Science Lecturer at Makerere University, and former Kioga county MP, Anthony Okello, have also been appointed, diversifying the expertise within the Commission.

Stephen Tashobya, a lawyer and former Kajara MP, was reappointed for his final term on the Commission, concluding his service at the end of the upcoming seven-year period. Tashobya gained prominence during his tenure in the 8th and 9th Parliament, particularly as the chair of the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee.

Pamela Etonu Okudi, who served as Acting Head of Administration at the Commission and previously worked at the National Forestry Authority, is another addition to the new lineup.

The renewed Commission faces the immediate task of advancing the implementation of the Strategic Plan, which began in the fiscal year 2022/23 and spans until 2026/27. A pivotal responsibility lies in planning and overseeing the administration of the upcoming 2025/2026 General Elections.

The budget for the Strategic Plan, encompassing the 2025/2026 General Elections Roadmap, is estimated at Two Trillion, Five Hundred Forty-One Billion, Four Hundred Eight Million, Eight Hundred Seventy-One Thousand, Two Hundred Eighty-Nine Shillings.

The outgoing Commission had already set the polling period for the 2026 General Elections between January 12th and February 10th, 2026.

WhatsApp Follow Button

Your Page Title

The Black Examiner®.

We come to you.

Want to send us a story or have an opinion to share? Send an email to or Join Our WhatsApp CHANNEL

HTML Snippets Powered By :